PhotoPlog

PhotoPlog (http://www.photoplog.com/forum/index.php)
-   "How Do I..." Questions (http://www.photoplog.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   Photoplog 4 a dummy :How should i bring to work (http://www.photoplog.com/forum/showthread.php?t=2052)

swennekers 01-19-2008 08:09 PM

Photoplog 4 a dummy :How should i bring to work
 
Hi There,
  • I have installed vbulletin on a brand new server with the latest stable version of php and mysql.
  • I have installed photoplog lite.
  • I can see the Admin interface in the admincp of vbulletin
  • I set the permissions of the the images directory to 777.
  • I switched php save mode off
The domain for the forum ist something like this.
http://forum.mydomain.net
and the photoplog directory is in the root directory of the vbulletin forum.
"/forum/photoplog"

But it is not working.
when i call the url http://forum.mydomain.net/photoplog
All i get is a blank page.
:confused:

thanx in advance for any help/ideas/hints

MikeD 01-20-2008 11:35 AM

Probably you did not set your Forum Path. Open the config.php within the photoplog directory...

PHP Code:

define('PHOTOPLOG_FWD','/full/path/to/forum'); 

and set the full path to your main forum directory. In your case...

PHP Code:

define('PHOTOPLOG_FWD','/forum.mydomain.net/forum/photoplog'); 


swennekers 04-01-2008 01:46 PM

openbasedir
 
I finaly found out what was wrong. Since this was a kind of tricky i will post this here.

There is a php setting which will configured in the httpd.conf

php_admin_value open_basedir

The value sets the directories which could be read by php.
If the value is set to a subdirectory of your webspace php is not able to process the complete forumpath.
In this case the secound if condition (!is_dir(dorumpath)) in the cmps_index.php fails.

This value can not be set in a htacces file it must be configured in the httpd.conf or in one of its includes files or in the php.ini of your server

if you want that the configured value works for all subdirectories you must set the value to the parent directory without a trailng slash

swennekers 04-01-2008 03:10 PM

again
 
I finaly found out what was wrong. Since this was a kind of tricky i will post this here.
What was wrong was my php_admin_value which was set (restricted) to my html subdirectory

The result was that the skript (forumpath.php) returnded my full forum path but the cmps_index.php could not
access the path because it was not allowed to do so.

What was responsible
There is a php_admin_value setting which will configured in the httpd.conf

php_admin_value open_basedir

The value sets the directories which could be read by php.
If the value is set to a subdirectory of your webspace php is not able to process the complete forumpath.
In this case the secoud if condition "if (!is_dir($forumpath))" in the cmps_index.php fails.

Quote:

if ($forumpath)
{
if (!is_dir($forumpath)) // This one fails if open_base_dir is too restrictive
{
echo 'Invalid forum path specified! Please edit this file and be sure to include the correct path for your $forumpath variable.';
exit;
}

chdir($forumpath);
}
This value can not be set in a htacces file it must be configured in the httpd.conf or in one of its includes files or in the php.ini of your server

if you want that the configured value works for all subdirectories you must set the value to the parent directory without a trailng slash

So if you have problems with your forum path configuration you shoud chec phpinfo.php if openbasedir is set

Example for configuration in httpd.conf

Quote:

<VirtualHost *:80>
ServerName www.beispiel.de
DocumentRoot /var/www/www.beispiel.de/html
php_admin_value open_basedir /var/www/www.example.de/
</VirtualHost>


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:14 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.